Studies of Lemon Blossom

lemonblossom

Frederic Leighton, 1st Baron Leighton PRA (1830 – 1896)

Leighton made this on-the-spot study in Capri. He records on the sheet ‘buds pink violet’. Although blossom of this kind appears again and again in his paintings this drawing was made in order to extend his understanding of the details of the blossom and their relationship to each other . . .
The Victoria and Albert Museum

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://secretgardening.wordpress.com/2013/04/19/studies-of-lemon-blossom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I enjoy reading your blog so much that I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! Hooray! Just answer the questions on my love and nominate your own to share the blog loving (;

    http://alicelucie.wordpress.com/2013/04/20/spreading-the-wordpress-liebe/

    Keep up the great work!

    • Lord, goodness, rats, I owe you such an apology.
      I don’t know why I felt so overwhelmed about my responsibilities there that I couldn’t think what to say or do right away.
      Managed anxiety by telling myself I’d think about it soon & went on as if it hadn’t happened.
      In spite of being enormously grateful & honored.

      So shameful and RUDE not to have responded, and then to lose track.
      It was a significant compliment to be mentioned by you; I’m touched & pleased.
      Please forgive me.

      • Oh don’t worry at all! I haven’t posted for a long time myself as I have been so busy 🙂 I do understand that feeling completely, but if you get round to writing I would love to hear your thoughts 🙂

  2. Once again an exquisite rendering. After having taken a botanical drawing class in graphite a few years back at Robinson Gardens can appreciate the attention to detail.


Leave a Reply

