The Sunlight On the Garden

The sunlight on the garden
Hardens and grows cold,
We cannot cage the minute
Within its nets of gold,
When all is told
We cannot beg for pardon.

. . .


Louis MacNeice

Published in: on September 4, 2012 at 3:07 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://secretgardening.wordpress.com/2012/09/04/2983/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nobody sees a flower really,
    It is so small
    It takes time
    Like to have a friend
    It takes time

    Georgia O’Keefe

    • Brilliant. I know that quotation–Wonder why it never occurred to me too use it—But I may, if that’s all right,
      Right now I’m really tangled up in all the things I want to say–and figuring out how to do it properly.

  2. Everything takes time.

  3. I do love Nasturtiums. Have shared this on LinkedIn. Hope you don’t mind.

    • No–Thank you.
      I love great falls & pools of them–and this picture seemed to take the flow & simplify it in a single graceful flower.
      I always love the studies for Dutch still life much better than the master-piece.

    • That is to say: No, I don’t mind; thank you very much for liking it, telling me, and passing it on.
      Sometimes I write things as though the recipient can hear my intonation.

      • I know just what you mean.


Leave a Reply

