Bloodroot

bloodrootJacob Bigelow (1787-1879)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://secretgardening.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/bloodroot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on pindanpost and commented:
    we have a bloodroot growing here in the Kimberley too…Haemodora haemodorum

    • Hi. I’m pretty sure I haven’t seen one since we had to leave my childhood place in Bucks County Pennsylvania.
      And I’d probably stopped looking for them in the springtime long before that. In New York & PA, ours were Sanguinaria canadensis.
      I think I remember copying a drawing of one in my 9th grade paper on medicinal herbs, sitting in the lovely tiled library that had been created by an eccentric gentleman who built a museum for the handmade tools of the countryside, and supplied wonderful books on local history; I think most of the information I used came from local Indian traditions. It was not a mainstream subject back then.
      Anyway–If you have an interest in handworking & craftsmanship you might like to see what Mr Mercer was up to at the time, and all the wonderful research, artifacts, and creations he left behind. I wouldn’t be surprised if he’d used the dye from bloodroot for something; he liked to do things the old–most fundamental–way.


Leave a Reply

